How to Vote by Mail

Who can vote by mail?

Every registered voter will receive a vote-by-mail ballot for the November 3, 2020, General Election. County elections officials will begin mailing ballots to voters by October 5, 2020. If you do not receive your vote-by-mail ballot or need to request a replacement, please contact your county elections office.

How to return your vote-by-mail ballot

After marking your choices on your vote-by-mail ballot, place it in the official envelope provided by your county elections office and seal it. Sign the envelope where directed. You have multiple options for returning your ballot.

To ensure your ballot arrives by the deadline, return it either:

By mail—must be postmarked on or before November 3 and received by your county elections office no later than November 20. No postage is required!

In person—drop off at your county elections office or any vote center, polling place, or ballot drop-off location in California before the polls close at 8:00 p.m. on November 3.

State law gives voters the freedom to designate anyone they choose to return their vote-by-mail ballots. However, we recommend that you only sign your completed ballot over to someone you trust. And never hand over your vote-by-mail ballot if you have not sealed and signed the back of the return envelope provided by your county elections office.

Even if you receive your vote-by-mail ballot and envelope, you can still vote in person at your polling place on Election Day. Bring your vote-by-mail ballot to the polling place and give it to a poll worker to exchange for a polling place ballot. If you do not have your vote-by-mail ballot and envelope, you may have to vote using a provisional ballot. This ensures that you have not already cast a ballot.

All counties offer an accessible option called remote accessible vote-by-mail (RAVBM). RAVBM allows voters with disabilities to receive their ballots at home and mark them independently and privately before sending them back to elections officials. Contact your county elections official for more information.